Thursday, January 29, 2009

you speak english?

i was walkin out of my building after work and this well-dressed man with a tie, trench, glasses comes up to me and gets my attention. i take off my earphones and asks me, "do you speak english?"

at that point i was like what the hell?! for the next few seconds i give him a strange look and start walking away. he says, "what? do i look like a gangster?" yes, cuz people dressed up in a tie, shirt, trenchcoat and glasses look like gangsters, idiot. so i said "no, cuz it's the question you asked. is it cuz i look...." then he finishes my sentence and says "asian." i put back on my earphones and walked towards the bus stop. i think he said something, but i didn't hear him nor did i care to.

c'mon now, why would you ask such a ignorant question? we were standing on the grounds of a US public educational institution and i even had a backpack on. wouldn't you assume i was a student and automatically assume i spoke english? that would be an ok question to ask if we were in a foreign country, but not in the US. would he have asked that same question if i was white or black?

i didn't have to say anything else to school that ignorant motherfucker.

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

i want...

to be a DJ....again.

Thursday, January 15, 2009

no heat!

for the past two months my room has been without heat while the temp has been dropping to the teens. sometime in november or october it had worked for one day but hadn't worked since. i pretty much left it up to my roommates to contact my landlord and didn't bother to take any action myself. so i let the cold days go by and was too stubborn to get a space heater cuz i didn't want to pay more electricity (even though my roommates use one, which screws me over since we evenly split the electric bill). i simply wore a bunch of layers and slept beneath 6 blankets to keep me warm in my own room.

(btw, under massachusetts law, landlords are required to provide heat to 68F during the day and 64F at night between Sept 15 and June 15. i had a whole class session on housing code. go public health!)

finally, i started getting fed up with shivering when i wake up in the morning and while i'm at home at night. i started calling up my manager to try and get the problem fixed. and then after a few days our heater started working again! and it still continues to work! just in time for single-digit weather.

hiatus

i need to blog more.

Saturday, November 22, 2008

you don't eat another man's orange chicken!

yes, i felt violated. my roommate ate my orange chicken from trader joe's thinking it was his and thinking that no one else but him shopped at trader joe's. funny thing, i have never ever seen orange chicken in our freezer ever other than my own.

issue resolved. i told him to pay me $5.

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

The People's Champ

I never would have imagined seeing an African-American president so early in my lifetime. But here we are, history in the making. It's pretty unbelievable. I'd prolly be tearing up like oprah and jesse jackson too if i was in chicago last night.

It seems like recently history has been full of despair--financial crisis, hurricanes, tsunamis, terrorist attacks, 2 terms under the crappiest president ever, etc. But now we have this glimmer of hope for a brighter future--the next david palmer--barack obama. he pretty much represents everyone that has never been represented at this level before--basically anybody not rich and white. You get a sense of connection with barack, like he's just one of us.

This is a good feeling.

on a side note: i'm pretty disappointed that prop 8 didn't pass. c'mon people! you gotta look at it beyond religion or beyond traditionalism. it's all about equality and rights for everyone. it's not gonna have any effect on your own marriage or beliefs. in some ways, this is like the ban on interracial marriage back in the day--so ridiculous, so unconstitutional.

Monday, October 20, 2008

BURRRRR

(not to be confused with Aaron Burr who dueled with Alexander Hamilton)

it's freakin cold in Boston! it feels like how the bay would feel like in the winter...and it's only october! i can only imagine how cold it will be during the winter. i've already starting stockpiling on jackets, coats and gloves. i hope all of you are enjoying your 70-80 degree weather while us here are suffering from 40-50 degree weather with wind chills that make it feel like your face is stuck in the freezer. just another reason why i don't want to live in the east coast forever.